Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 12-31-2018, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
hows my progress so far?

Ok, so I have that very crazy ceiling that's over 35 feet so I have been unable to install my projector.


So today, I hired an IT consultant and we turned our Telephone cable (Cat 5e) into an Ethernet to HDMI system. so it loops from behind my flat screen to behind my couch.
So I can mount i just above my couch. This was hard because slab floor.


So I would have to have had some crazy ass HDMI cable...


Im about to order this: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...K4UTTGKG&psc=1


And so if im in luck My projector will be about 140 inches from the screen.


Question: what screen can I have?
I have Pro7827HD - 1920 x 1080 Resolution, 2,200 ANSI Lumens, 1.1~1.5 Throw Ratio. Throw Distance:4.2 – 46.9 ft. / 1.29 – 14.28 mThrow Ratio:1.1~1.5

I have no idea what screen I can get.


Is this ok? http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens...ustomerReviews
Modular Cat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-31-2018, 07:38 PM
 
theaterofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Do you live in a warehouse or are you deciding that installing a projector in an open-to-second-floor living room layout is a good idea?
theaterofpain is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-31-2018, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
yes open to second floor vaulted cling.
Why is it bad? I feel I will be able to pull this off with the Ethernet to HDMI adapters.
The "Wall" will be mounted on L brackets.


Behind my couch has a small wall with stairs. I can put the projector there just above my head.
Not the best solution but so far its been the only way I can get this going.
I can deal with fan noise. a solid HDMI video connection and my AMP will have the sources just under the projector.


I could move my amp but then the remote control would fail to do its job.
Modular Cat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 03:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 2,540
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 774 Post(s)
Liked: 411
I hope your aware the projector must be mounted inverted at or slightly above the top of the screen. It may be possible to mount it as you suggest using picture detail robing digital keystone. A non tab tensioned manual pull down screen is most likely to have waves in it out of the box your will develop them soon after. Without knowing the ambient/reflective light control in your room it's hard to say what type will work. As far as moving your amp the best solution is a universal remote with remote hub capabilities that will also eliminate all the remote clutter.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Bat Cave Home Theater, JVC RS49U/Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.50:1 to 16:9, Marantz 7009 with 7.1.4 Atmos with Ohm mains,3 DIY Subs (2 15" (1 ported, 1 sealed and a 12" 4th order bandpass), 1 DIY butt kicker, Custom Built HTPC, 18TB DroboFS NAS
rekbones is online now  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Table top is the same as ceiling mount yes?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	correct-alr-projector-setup_3.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	189.7 KB
ID:	2503712  
Modular Cat is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,411
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3338 Post(s)
Liked: 2433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modular Cat View Post
Table top is the same as ceiling mount yes?
Table top requires projector upright (sitting on its feet) near even with the bottom of the screen's image area. Ceiling mount requires projector inverted (feet facing up) near even with the top of the screen's image area.
Dave in Green is online now  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Erie Pa
Posts: 6,899
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1730 Post(s)
Liked: 794
I have the same projector as you so maybe I can help if you provide some additional information.

You need to tell us ether the size screen you would like to have and we can provide the distance the projector would work best at, or you can tell us the distance the lens of the projector will be from the screen and we could recommend a screen size.

Mine sits just about overhead and the noise isn’t a problem.

This projector does have features that help with placement the best one is it has some vertical lens shift thru a control knob on the projector. It also has a full set of digital adjustments as in keystone in both directions and corner adjust. These digital adjustment I would recommend you don’t use unless there is something in your mounting that makes you have to use them, as they slightly degrade the image quality. The greater amount you use them the larger the degrading.

Bud
bud16415 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,411
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3338 Post(s)
Liked: 2433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modular Cat View Post
… And so if im in luck My projector will be about 140 inches from the screen.


Question: what screen can I have?
I have Pro7827HD - 1920 x 1080 Resolution, 2,200 ANSI Lumens, 1.1~1.5 Throw Ratio. Throw Distance:4.2 – 46.9 ft. / 1.29 – 14.28 mThrow Ratio:1.1~1.5

I have no idea what screen I can get. ...
For screen size, if the front of the lens of your Pro7827HD is exactly 140" from where the surface of the screen will be the projector's zoom lens will allow you to throw a 16:9 aspect ratio image with a 107" to 146" diagonal.
Dave in Green is online now  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud16415 View Post
I have the same projector as you so maybe I can help if you provide some additional information.

You need to tell us ether the size screen you would like to have and we can provide the distance the projector would work best at, or you can tell us the distance the lens of the projector will be from the screen and we could recommend a screen size.

Mine sits just about overhead and the noise isn’t a problem.

This projector does have features that help with placement the best one is it has some vertical lens shift thru a control knob on the projector. It also has a full set of digital adjustments as in keystone in both directions and corner adjust. These digital adjustment I would recommend you don’t use unless there is something in your mounting that makes you have to use them, as they slightly degrade the image quality. The greater amount you use them the larger the degrading.



http://www.amazon.com/Elite-Screens.../dp/B00I9IDCNM


1. I would like 140 inch and can achieve about 145 inches lens to screen.
2. Because the wall its self is 30 feet, I could get the lens to fire at the bottom. *This is exactly eye height now to my flat screen. So near nothing would change.
I would *NOT* use keystone.


So now I just need to find a motorized 140 inch screen.


Photo one is 55 inch from ground.
photo 2 is the ceiling,
photo 3 is the stairwell that is 55 inches (Give or take to get the "Table mount" lens of the bottom of the display.


Advice and



THANK YOU!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190101_101202.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	686.3 KB
ID:	2503796   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190101_101207.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	526.3 KB
ID:	2503798   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190101_101300.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	664.1 KB
ID:	2503800  

Last edited by Modular Cat; 01-01-2019 at 11:25 AM.
Modular Cat is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-01-2019, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Is there a reason I could set this all up with my 100 inch screen now to factor in *And learn* ?
Or does it look like I have a working level?


Hay dont want to be the guy with holes in my wall.
Modular Cat is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 01-02-2019, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Erie Pa
Posts: 6,899
Mentioned: 91 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1730 Post(s)
Liked: 794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modular Cat View Post
Is there a reason I could set this all up with my 100 inch screen now to factor in *And learn* ?
Or does it look like I have a working level?


Hay dont want to be the guy with holes in my wall.
To get your 140” screen size the lens can be between 134” and 183”. Here is the calculator you can use.

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Vie...ulator-pro.htm

So your 145” should work.

Yes I would suggest playing around first on a screen if you have one or even your bare wall. You can simulate distances by sitting the projector on a table or box right side up and then when you mount it upside down. Depending on how far over on the stair way you go will determine how high. You may need to extend something up from the stair runner to get the projector high enough for that big of a screen.

Bud
bud16415 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 01-02-2019, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,411
Mentioned: 133 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3338 Post(s)
Liked: 2433
A 140" diagonal 16:9 aspect ratio screen is not a standard size. The closest standard size would be 135".
Dave in Green is online now  
post #13 of 15 Old 01-02-2019, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Thanks for the reply,
I have a 100 inch screen right now.


All I need is the HDMI to Ethernet converter now.,


http://www.amazon.com/dp/B079N2Y3S8...Full%20HD%203D


I have Cat5e in my house on both walls.
Modular Cat is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 01-03-2019, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 6,182
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1468 Post(s)
Liked: 1098
Please be aware that the converters you are looking at are not NETWORK based extenders, but are point to point HDMI extenders. You can't go into a network with them. They need the cat-5e cable connected directly between the two locations. While the industry standard is HD-Base-T, you can use other extenders which are well reviewed on Amazon without issue. I have used a few different models without issue, but typically at 1080i resolution, not 1080p. Still, read the reviews. I expect most people can see if it works or doesn't in their home.

The key here is that this is not a network connection, but a point to point connection using cat-5e instead of HDMI cable to span the distance. It's used throughout the pro-install business all the time because cat-5e is inexpensive and you can cut it to the length you need.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 01-03-2019, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Yes I hired a pro and we simply took the two phone lines (Cat5e) at least that is what the wire says!
And we looped them off the phone system into its own little system.
Modular Cat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off