Forum Jump: 
 13223Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23611 of 23620 Old 01-06-2019, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 4,571
Mentioned: 139 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3707 Post(s)
Liked: 4420
Quote:
Originally Posted by nw2a View Post
I ended up getting a Sony X900F last night. A friend immediately said he'd buy the F9000 to use as a 1080p gaming monitor.

The X900 is reminding me when CRTs used to get that bright.
Good choice!
p5browne likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23612 of 23620 Old 01-07-2019, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Asterysk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Middle East
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Since you have no info under your avatar, you are located where? NA SEK-3500U will NOT work on European sets.
Check the underside of the OCB for a 2.5" sticker stating the unit is a SEK-3500U. No such sticker, but a white one containing a BN # - this is a JS series OCB.
I think my TV is similar to the Australian because the distributor here (Dubai) was supplying the /XS version of the SEK-3500.

I just tried the North American (/ZA) sek-3500 that I bought on ebay and it also works (although I dont have access to terrestial broadcast so couldnt try that, probably wont work)

The EEPROM reset technique is really quick and solves a lot of problems with second hand SEK-3500 units
Asterysk is offline  
post #23613 of 23620 Old 01-07-2019, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 9,853
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3758 Post(s)
Liked: 2986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterysk View Post
I think my TV is similar to the Australian because the distributor here (Dubai) was supplying the /XS version of the SEK-3500.

I just tried the North American (/ZA) sek-3500 that I bought on ebay and it also works (although I dont have access to terrestial broadcast so couldnt try that, probably wont work)

The EEPROM reset technique is really quick and solves a lot of problems with second hand SEK-3500 units
Did you take a picture to show which pins to short? Also post with warning `Not to try this if you're not in the know! I'm not responsible if a Member bricks his OCB!!'
brotony likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23614 of 23620 Old 01-16-2019, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
pds910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Xbox One S Diagnostic Test Results

Important: Make sure that Menu >> Picture >> Picture Options >> HDMI UHD Color is turned On for the HDMI input you have the Xbox One S connected to otherwise only the top box will be checked
Thanks for this! Hoping to be able to set mine up the same way.
galonzo and Musician like this.
pds910 is offline  
post #23615 of 23620 Old 01-16-2019, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
pds910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Needed one more post before I could post a link...see next post below. Sorry!
pds910 is offline  
post #23616 of 23620 Old 01-16-2019, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
pds910's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello,

I bought a used sek-3500u off of ebay to update my UN55HU8550. When I initially plugged it in, it was a scrambled green picture. After tracking back through multiple pages here, I was able to reset the tv to factory and start over again. This time the sek-3500 setup went fine and I could read all the screens and navigate through them. Those look perfect.

However, once I get through the setup, when I start the unit up it flashes the smart tv logo a few times, then this is the picture I am now getting. It's like faint white moving lines over top of the picture.

http://ibb.co/7y9Y3c0

Has anyone seen this before? Is there anything I can do, or is the sek-3500 unit defective? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In the mean time, I'm going to unplug the unit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thumbnail.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	2511916  

Last edited by pds910; 01-17-2019 at 07:50 PM.
pds910 is offline  
post #23617 of 23620 Old 01-17-2019, 07:24 AM
Member
 
yld2rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nw2a View Post
So far, Samsung has been of no help, Best Buy won't even get back to me, and the source on eBay wants the price of a new TV for the 3500. I'm stuck.

Suggestions on a path forward without buying a new TV?
PM Me.
yld2rob is offline  
post #23618 of 23620 Old 01-18-2019, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I need a SEK 2500 for a un65f9000?

I am in need of a SEK 2500 one connect box since my finally died or something that will make my tv work. I have a un65f9000 and just want to get my TV back up and running to be a TV. Seems not a lot of folks have them at all or part places. Anyone know where i could find one for this model and use for version code UD03? Any help would be appreciated.
thanks
grantnjones is offline  
post #23619 of 23620 Old 01-18-2019, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 9,853
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3758 Post(s)
Liked: 2986
Quote:
Originally Posted by grantnjones View Post
I am in need of a SEK 2500 one connect box since my finally died or something that will make my tv work. I have a un65f9000 and just want to get my TV back up and running to be a TV. Seems not a lot of folks have them at all or part places. Anyone know where i could find one for this model and use for version code UD03? Any help would be appreciated.
thanks
Last time I looked, amazon still had 2500s listed. (This item is no longer available - everywhere I searched.)

Next issue, we have no clue as to where you are located, please update your avatar info. Different parts of the world need different models of the 2500.

Just click on the User CP in the upper right, then over to the left side in the new menu to Edit Your Details, and further down Location - please fill in.
galonzo likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 01-19-2019 at 10:21 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #23620 of 23620 Old 01-19-2019, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

Ive been reading up on HDR and my 2014 HU8550 TV, and stumbled on this thread. Although I was happy to see that I don't need a whole new TV to experience HDR, I was not happy to see the outrageous prices on eBay for the SEK-3500u nowadays (over $500!). Are there any other places to get a hold of this unit?

Thank you
Alexander Kondratskiy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off