Forum Jump: 
 297Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 453 Old 02-16-2018, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by trilkb View Post
BEST POST EVER. Lol. I'm sure you don't see the comedy as much. But thinking of the expression on someone's face after blowing a box apart is probably priceless.
pneumonia-matic barf-nailer, best tool invention ever (except for making horns with! )
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 453 Old 02-17-2018, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Adobe Audition 2018 works in 2012R2 too, so I'll probably use that OS. We'll see...

Last time I tried Win10 or Win2016 it was glitchy (too much cortana spyware...)

Now I just need to buy and assemble the computers.
That will be the actual hardware I use, so it will be a real HW/SW test at that point!

That Z370 MB has Gen2USB 10Gb/s, double the speed of what the Motu needs for 64x64 @ 192khz.
and since it is a Gen8 i7 it has 6 cores, so it should run pretty fast; and it's fanless so 0db.
Gonna get an M.2 boot drive to go with it as well. Doesn't need to be a big one, just holding OS and Adobe and Motu driver.

I don't even need SpecLab because Audition has a spec analyzer that goes to 1Hz etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2k12R2.jpg
Views:	601
Size:	454.1 KB
ID:	2362816  
biga6761 likes this.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-18-2018 at 03:42 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #63 of 453 Old 02-18-2018, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
I've been a very bad boy!


Some of it says it arrives this week, and some says it will take 2 months to ship out... UGH!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	76554.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	2363118  
biga6761 and notfastenough like this.
BassThatHz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 453 Old 02-18-2018, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig S King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Still waiting on more HzHorn and various other subwoofer pictures.
Craig S King is offline  
post #65 of 453 Old 02-19-2018, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
About 1/3rd the stuff should arrive any day of this week.

The cases may not be here until april is says. The computers are useless without the cases, and the Motu's are useless without the computers. UGH!

That said, the power saving will be crazy. Right now my gaming rig at idle is like 300w rms. Where as BOTH of these new computers at idle will be like 30w rms combined total! and that's 8 more cores than it! (That's technology for ya!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig S King View Post
Still waiting on more HzHorn and various other subwoofer pictures.
so am i.
SO AM I...


I'm gonna de-lid my existing one first, after experimenting with it, see what happened (or try to...)

The order will be:
1) The two towers.
2) The 24.
3) The horn stuff.

I don't have room for any other order. 16 18's takes up a LOT of space.
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #66 of 453 Old 02-20-2018, 07:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Ram for both computers have arrived, and the first motherboard.

Both cpu's arrive tomorrow, and half of both power supplies the day after that.

The AVB hub arrives in 1-2 weeks.

The 624 and 24ao in ~3 weeks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	342.jpg
Views:	542
Size:	276.4 KB
ID:	2364406  

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-20-2018 at 08:12 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #67 of 453 Old 02-20-2018, 09:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Right now my gaming rig at idle is like 300w rms. Where as BOTH of these new computers at idle will be like 30w rms combined total!
That's a crazy high idle draw, what the crap are you running? 30W is crazy low.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
I'm gonna de-lid my existing one first, after experimenting with it, see what happened (or try to...)
Just a heads up, my buddy did that to a 4790K, over-clocked it a bit and it lasted 3 years. I'm sure you'll do it right and it will pass tests at first but it may have a shorter life than normal.
biga6761 likes this.
Shreds is offline  
post #68 of 453 Old 02-21-2018, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shreds View Post
That's a crazy high idle draw, what the crap are you running? 30W is crazy low.



Just a heads up, my buddy did that to a 4790K, over-clocked it a bit and it lasted 3 years. I'm sure you'll do it right and it will pass tests at first but it may have a shorter life than normal.
I was talking about deliding the horn, not the cpu. hehe

My current computer is 6 years old now, it was pretty high-end back in the day. I paid like $7000 for it.

It was the first consumer pc to support usb 3.0 and HDMI, as well as i7 and Xeons, and cuda.

It has 64gb ddr3, i7 3820 8HT 3.8ghz, 1tb ssd, 4tb hdd, nv 6000 series gpu, xonar sc, BD-RW, 600w platinum psu. 40" 4K 60hz LCD.

Garbage inefficient hog by today's standards... but back then it was l33t...
Shreds and biga6761 like this.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-21-2018 at 01:18 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #69 of 453 Old 02-21-2018, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
I've selected the M.2 drives...
I also seemed to have overlooked that this MB needs an 8pin ATX and that power supply only has 4Pin + molex.

Therefore:


All 4 arrive Monday it says.

This motherboard has a dedicated 32Gbps lane for the M.2, based on my usage, so it should reach it's full 3.2GB/s read and 1.5GB/s write speed.

Should install and boot hella-fast!

In the distant future, as 4tb M.2's come down in price, I will eventually be able to upgrade to 2 of those, which will be a welcomed upgrade vs my current archive-storage solution...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	654.jpg
Views:	513
Size:	98.7 KB
ID:	2364938  
biga6761 likes this.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-21-2018 at 09:09 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #70 of 453 Old 02-23-2018, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Those M2 drives are very nice. I had my SIL build me a computer with a 512GB PCIe M2 & it goes from POST to desktop in about 5 seconds.
BassThatHz likes this.
frankwp is offline  
post #71 of 453 Old 02-23-2018, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Both CPU's and both SSD's for both computers have arrived...


Also half of the PSU connectors for both computers...


Just waiting on the cases now, and the rest of the PSU stuff.
It's all useless without those!

I may have to buy a tube of thermal paste as none of these boxes came with any, not sure if the cases will either, so...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	42.jpg
Views:	487
Size:	132.4 KB
ID:	2365942   Click image for larger version

Name:	234.jpg
Views:	483
Size:	243.1 KB
ID:	2365944  
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #72 of 453 Old 02-24-2018, 01:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 629
BassThatHz and biga6761 like this.
Shreds is offline  
post #73 of 453 Old 02-26-2018, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
The Motu Hub and two PSU bricks have arrived.


Now I just need the cases and the other 1/3rd of both PSU's, and then I can start assembling this junk...

For which there is no tracking info.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ytry65.jpg
Views:	432
Size:	256.5 KB
ID:	2367376  
BassThatHz is offline  
post #74 of 453 Old 02-26-2018, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,545
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 935 Post(s)
Liked: 1164
Arctic Silver is my preference. What heatsink/fans are you using on the cpus?
Pradeep2 is offline  
post #75 of 453 Old 02-26-2018, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pradeep2 View Post
Arctic Silver is my preference. What heatsink/fans are you using on the cpus?
I will be using Silver paste.

It is a fanless design. No moving parts anywhere to be found.

Streacom FC10 Alpha (Black):



Looks like I'm gonna have to buy 2 Streacom heat pipe-risers for this MB...
(Doh! More costs! )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Streacom.jpg
Views:	434
Size:	90.1 KB
ID:	2367472  
Shreds, biga6761 and Pradeep2 like this.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-26-2018 at 10:55 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #76 of 453 Old 02-26-2018, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Paste and 2 Risers have now been ordered!

Paste should be here by Friday (or sooner.)
Risers, probably by the end of next week, we'll see...
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #77 of 453 Old 02-27-2018, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Paste and 2 Risers have now been ordered!

Paste should be here by Friday (or sooner.)
Risers, probably by the end of next week, we'll see...
Those cpus generate some heat under load. I have not seen how well those cases work with the new i7s.

I ran an older i7 (think 4th gen) in a similar fan less case and it throttled during avx video encoding at stock clocks. Sold it to a buddy... Went back to dampened cases with quite fans and a cooler running ryzen & have it in a quiet area for audio recording. Close to perfect and fans only spin up during audio and video mixing. Video compression spins up quick also.

Amazing how just audio effects don't take much cpu un till there are several per channel and then over 20 channels or so. Ssds help some also though I don't have a pcie drive yet..

Great stats on the interfaces.
cellarnoise is offline  
post #78 of 453 Old 02-27-2018, 01:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
After 3 long years of planning and saving, I'm finally closing in on this rack upgrade, at last!

I'm getting really close, I can almost smell the end.

Every aspect of this rack upgrade has been... crazy-level: 9000!
The chance of failure is so high it is mind blowing!!!
(YOLO )
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #79 of 453 Old 02-27-2018, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by cellarnoise View Post
Those cpus generate some heat under load. I have not seen how well those cases work with the new i7s.

I ran an older i7 (think 4th gen) in a similar fan less case and it throttled during avx video encoding at stock clocks. Sold it to a buddy... Went back to dampened cases with quite fans and a cooler running ryzen & have it in a quiet area for audio recording. Close to perfect and fans only spin up during audio and video mixing. Video compression spins up quick also.

Amazing how just audio effects don't take much cpu un till there are several per channel and then over 20 channels or so. Ssds help some also though I don't have a pcie drive yet..

Great stats on the interfaces.
Video encoding runs all cores at 100% though.
Real-Time audio isn't that demanding (knocks on wood.)

Worst-case: I will turn off turbo and HT, and under clock it to the lowest possible value. Still lots of horses under the hood with 6 cores.

The case is rated for 95w TDP per case-side, without the extra riser metal added, CPU is supposed to be 65w stock.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #80 of 453 Old 02-27-2018, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassThatHz View Post
Got a text from DHL this morning.
It was the tracking for the last of the power supply.
It will be here this week.

The heat pipe riser just shipped out today, no eta yet, probably by the end of next week.

The cases... your guess is as good as mine.
I had an HDP h4 or 5 case with my i7 4th gen cpu with something like a gtx950 or 60... like 2 or 3 or 4 :0 generations ago that had fans. It was not a solo comp without video output. I think it was a 4770k or something. Whatever, it would not even do stock clocks for and hour without down clocking.

About the same as my laptops 4700mq, which I still have and love for remote recording. It does great until loaded up with both audio an visual processing. I now move all my live recording stuff that I record live after saving to a SSD to my desktop computer that now has fans and is Ryzen.

Fans don't move until I do video. Love the cool running current gen, AMD chips with a large CPU cooler. I may go threadripper, but the current gen ryzen and theadripper burns some watts at idle... I think the chipsets are on old tech. Just make sure that the mofsets have good heatsinks....
cellarnoise is offline  
post #81 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
J_P_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: L.A. - Lower Alabama
Posts: 5,105
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 726 Post(s)
Liked: 539
I've read this thread at least three times, and I followed what was going on all the way up to the truck carnage.

I don't quite understand what I'm seeing here, but I just can't seem to look away. Can someone explain what the heck all this gear is going to do? I feel like I didn't get the decoder ring that puts this all together

<---- Sweet, that's my 5000th post
farsider3000 likes this.

Dude, are you made of leprechauns? Cause that was awesome!
The Plains Theater Has Begun
Pro Designed Room - Measurements Before/During/After Treatments.
J_P_A is offline  
post #82 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Outta nowhere, the cases and power supplies show up!

They came all the way from Austria apparently...



I have enough components to start assembly, especially if I temporarily use the stock intel coolers.

The risers will be here this week (monday at the latest), as will the paste.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	st2.jpg
Views:	404
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	2368340   Click image for larger version

Name:	st1.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	230.8 KB
ID:	2368342  
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #83 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Craig S King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Boooooo!!! We want pictures of subs.... not computer scraps!


This is DIY subs.... not DIY computers!!
Craig S King is offline  
post #84 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,913
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_P_A View Post
I've read this thread at least three times, and I followed what was going on all the way up to the truck carnage.

I don't quite understand what I'm seeing here, but I just can't seem to look away. Can someone explain what the heck all this gear is going to do? I feel like I didn't get the decoder ring that puts this all together

<---- Sweet, that's my 5000th post
Not quite sure ... but I think it all sits between a processor and amps and does a bit of EQ

Cheers,
biga6761 likes this.
Peter M is offline  
post #85 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Got it assembled and booting into the bios with stock fan.



Now I need to install the audio software...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	assembled.jpg
Views:	394
Size:	184.3 KB
ID:	2368378   Click image for larger version

Name:	bios.jpg
Views:	394
Size:	416.1 KB
ID:	2368380  
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #86 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_P_A View Post
I've read this thread at least three times, and I followed what was going on all the way up to the truck carnage.

I don't quite understand what I'm seeing here, but I just can't seem to look away. Can someone explain what the heck all this gear is going to do? I feel like I didn't get the decoder ring that puts this all together

<---- Sweet, that's my 5000th post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
Not quite sure ... but I think it all sits between a processor and amps and does a bit of EQ

Cheers,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig S King View Post
Boooooo!!! We want pictures of subs.... not computer scraps!
This is DIY subs.... not DIY computers!!
Calm down...
These computers will be directly controlling my DIY speakers and subs.

Don't think of them as computers, think of them like giant miniDSP's...
But instead of 10x10, it's a 64x64, and way better SQ.

My system is highly esoteric & exotic DIY, it's not a normal home theater, even for DIY...
miniDSP's can't do what this system I'm building here can do. Not even with 5 10x10's.
This is next-level stuff.

Correct: They sit between the Atmos decoder and the amplifiers...
biga6761 likes this.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #87 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 09:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Peter M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,913
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 270
maxiDSP ?

Last edited by Peter M; 02-28-2018 at 09:27 PM.
Peter M is offline  
post #88 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
maxiDSP ?
My system is going to be 16.29.6 Atmos
(7.3.6 discrete for starters... though)

MaximusDSP: The 9 1899's of DSP...

(Hint: You don't buy a Motu hub just to connect only two Motu 24's )

Two more Motu's should be here within the next few weeks/days.

This is my test-bench prior to putting it in the rack and connecting up the amplifiers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	test.jpg
Views:	414
Size:	1.43 MB
ID:	2368408  
notfastenough likes this.

Last edited by BassThatHz; 02-28-2018 at 09:55 PM.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #89 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 66 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 571 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Will you be using the software that you wrote to control the EQ or another ASIO based software?

I'm really interested to see what real world latency you'll be able to achieve with this rig. Sick build man, better than most recording studios.
biga6761 likes this.
Shreds is offline  
post #90 of 453 Old 02-28-2018, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern Okan range (NW Cascades region)
Posts: 10,258
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3476 Post(s)
Liked: 3904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shreds View Post
Will you be using the software that you wrote to control the EQ or another ASIO based software?

I'm really interested to see what real world latency you'll be able to achieve with this rig. Sick build man, better than most recording studios.
Preliminary tests suggested a latency of <10ms, but higher than 3ms.

Short term I will be using Audition 2018.
Eventually I may finish that app, but that's low priority now and a big maybe (knocks on wood.)

As far as studios go:
I'm sure at least 1 studio uses Motu's for mixing/mastering UHD Atmos movies/discs via ProTools.
The Dolby Atmos Production Suite costs only $299 by the way. Good for up to 128 objects and untold number of channels.
http://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...te&cclcl=en_US
But don't get your hopes too high... I don't think it has RT decode, it's for creators only, not consumers.

I know that several live concert tours have used Motu stuff.
Beyonce, The Eagles, Michael Jackson, Cirque du Soleil, Van Halen etc etc.
http://motu.com/newsitems/on-tour-wi...ital-performer
http://motu.com/newsitems/beyonce-is-on-fire/view

If it's good enough for all those performers and audiences and making UHD discs, then it should be good enough for anyone...
Shreds and biga6761 like this.
BassThatHz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off